| +/- INJURY DICE | Effect | Dice that are added to Injury Rolls. If the Keyword applies to a Weapon, the dice are only added to Injury Rolls for Attacks made with it. |
| +/- INJURY MODIFIER | Effect | Modifiers that are applied to the result of an Injury Roll. If the Keyword applies to a Weapon, the modifier is only added to Injury Rolls for Attacks made with it. |
| +DICE | Effect | Modifier for ACTION rolls. For each +DICE, add one dice to the dice pool of the 2D6 roll you are about to make. +1 DICE thus makes the roll a total of 3D6. Then roll all the dice and pick the two highest. If two +DICE are added, roll 4D6 and pick the two highest, and so on. |
| -DICE | Effect | Modifier for ACTION rolls. For each -DICE, add one dice to the dice pool of the 2D6 roll you are about to make. Thus -1 DICE makes the roll a total of 3D6. Then roll all the dice and pick the two lowest. If two -DICE are added, roll 4D6 and pick the two lowest, and so on. |
| ACTION | Tag | An activity a model can carry out when it is Activated. Common ACTIONS include Move, Dash, Shoot and Fight. |
| ARMOUR PIERCING | Effect | Weapon with this Keyword reduces the target’s total -INJURY MODIFIER from its Armour and/or Shields by 1, to a minimum of 0. For example, if a target had Standard Armour and a Trench Shield, the -INJURY MODIFIER would be lowered from -2 to -1. |
| ARTIFICIAL | Tag | This model is not of natural biological origin but is instead constructed from non-organic elements. |
| ASSAULT | Effect | Ranged Attacks made with Weapons that have this Keyword do not prevent a model from Charging or making a Melee Attack during the same Activation. |
| AUTOMATIC (X) | Effect | You can make a number of Ranged Attacks with this weapon equal to X, one after another. The attacks can target different enemy models, as long as they are all within 6" of each other. Resolve each attack one at a time using steps 2 to 6 of the Ranged Attack Sequence. Any BLOOD MARKERS that are spent only modify the Injury Roll for the attack they are spent on, and do not modify Injury Rolls for subsequent attacks. |
| BAYONET LUG | Effect | Bayonets can only be attached to weapons fitted with a ‘Bayonet lug’. They do not count towards the maximum melee weapons a model can carry. |
| BLACK GRAIL | Tag | This model is part of the Cult of the Black Grail Faction. |
| BLAST (X) | Effect | A Ranged Weapon with BLAST (X”) has a blast radiusin inches equal to X (including vertically). When you make an attack with theWeapon, you must pick a target point for the attack. The target point can either be a point on the Battlefield or an enemy model; whichever you choose must be within the attacking model’s Line of Sight and the Weapon’s range. If the Success Roll for the attack is a Failure, the attack misses and nothing happens unless the weapon also has the SCATTER Keyword. If the Success Roll for the attack is a Success or Critical Success, make an Injury Roll for every model within the Weapon’s blast radius as long as a line of sight exists between the model and the target point. Note that the Shooting into Melee rule does not apply to a BLAST (models within the blast radius are automatically hit whether they are within 1" of an enemy model or not). If you roll a Critical Success, you only add +1 INJURY DICE to the roll for a model if it was chosen as the target point of the attack. |
| BLESSED (X) | Effect | When you deploy a model with this Keyword for the first time in a game, place a number of BLESSING MARKERS beside the model equal to X. |
| BLESSING MARKER | Tag | The model is under the influence of a supernatural or chemical enhancement that provides temporary benefits. Each marker can be converted into +1 DICE for any ACTION the model takes, or into -1 DICE when rolling injuries for this model. |
| BLOCK | Effect | Add -1 DICE for Melee Attacks targeting that model if the attacker made a Charge ACTION before making the attack this round. |
| BLOOD MARKER | Tag | BLOOD MARKERS are placed on models that suffer an injury. Each can be converted into -1 DICE for any ACTION the wounded model takes or into +1 DICE when rolling injuries for this model. |
| CONSUMABLE | Effect | In a Campaign, Battlekit with this Keyword is lost at the end of a game in which it is used. |
| COVER | Effect | A model with this Keyword has the Cover or Defended Obstacle attack modifiers. |
| CRITICAL | Effect | Add +2 INJURY DICE instead of +1 INJURY DICE when a Critical Success is rolled for an attack made by a Weapon with this Keyword. |
| CUMBERSOME | Effect | Weapons with this Keyword require two hands to use, even if the model has the STRONG Keyword. However, they can still be used alongside a Shield with the Shield Combo stipulation. |
| DEMONIC | Effect | model with this Keyword has the NEGATE FIRE Keyword. |
| ELITE | Tag | The most senior and heroic models in a Warband. |
| FEAR | Effect | Add -1 DICE to a Melee Attack that targets a model with this Keyword. Models that cause FEAR are immune to FEAR themselves. |
| FIRE | Effect | After making the Injury Roll for a Weapon with this Keyword, place 1 extra BLOOD MARKER next to the target model (even if the Injury Roll has No Effect). |
| FIRETEAM | Effect | A model with this Keyword is part of a group of two models, both of which must have the FIRETEAM Keyword. Record which models are in Fireteams in your Warband on your Warband Roster. If you have more than one Fireteam, each must be given its own name. For example, you might say Carl and Gustav are in Fireteam 1 (or Alpha, or Swift Death), while Birgit and Ottokar are in Fireteam 2 (or Gamma, or Crushing Blow). Models that are part of the same Fireteam are Activated simultaneously. They can take their ACTIONS in any order you wish, and you can switch between the two models freely. However, if the Activation of either member of the Fireteam ends (due to a failed Risky Success Roll for example), it immediately ends for the other model that is in the Fireteam too. |
| FLAMETHROWER | Effect | When a Weapon with this Keyword is used to make a Ranged Attack it is automatically a Success. Do not make a Success Roll for the attack. Note that this means that the attack cannot achieve a Critical Success. |
| GAS | Effect | After making the Injury Roll for a Weapon with this Keyword, place 1 extra BLOOD MARKER next to the target model even if the result is No Effect. |
| GOETIC (X) | Tag | Goetic Spells are marked with the Keyword GOETIC (x) where the number in brackets indicates how many BLOOD MARKERS will have to be spent to trigger the effect of the Spell. If multiple numbers or a range of numbers are listed in the brackets, any one of those numbers can be chosen. These BLOOD MARKERS can be taken from any model currently taking part in the battle, be they friendly or enemy models. However, they must come from models that do not have the Keyword DEMONIC or BLACK GRAIL. BLOOD MARKERS used this way are removed from the game and the described effect of the Goetic Spell or ability then takes effect as described – no ACTION roll is needed, unless outlined in the spell. Despite not requiring an ACTION roll, Goetic Spells are ACTIONS and, as with other ACTIONS, spells can only be used by the model once per Activation. Some Goetic Powers are not marked with the Keyword GOETIC (x). These powers are typically passive abilities. |
| GOLEM | Effect | A model with this Keyword treats an Out of Action result from the Injury Roll Table as a Down result unless the result was caused by a Bloodbath Roll. In addition, you cannot remove BLOOD MARKERS from a friendly model with this Keyword (the opposing player can use them normally). Finally, a model with this Keyword has the NEGATE FEAR and NEGATE GAS Keywords. |
| GRENADE | Effect | Grenade-type weapons do not count towards the number of ranged weapons a model can carry and do not have to be held in your hand at all times. A model armed with grenades can use them as many times as they wish. |
| HEAVY | Effect | A model cannot be equipped with more than one piece of Battlekit with this Keyword and it does not receive a Charge Bonus when it makes a Charge Move. In addition, if a Ranged Weapon or Grenade has this Keyword, you cannot use the Weapon or Grenade to Shoot and Move, Charge or Retreat as part of the same Activation. |
| HELD | Effect | A piece of Battlekit with this Keyword requires one hand to carry and cannot be put down. Because of this, a model that has this Keyword can be equipped with either a 1-Handed Weapon or a Shield. It cannot be equipped with any 2-Handed Weapons, or both a Weapon and a Shield (even if the Shield has the Shield-Combo rule). It may still carry Grenades. |
| HERETIC | Tag | The model is a member of the Heretic Legions faction. |
| IGNORE ARMOUR | Effect | Ignore -INJURY DICE and -INJURY MODIFIERS for a target’s Armour Characteristic, and for any Armour or Shield pieces of Battlekit that it has, for attacks that have this Keyword. |
| IGNORE X | Effect | Ignore the Success Roll or Injury Roll modifier that is specified. For example, the Success Roll for an attack made with a Ranged Weapon that had the IGNORE COVER Keyword would not be affected by the -1 DICE modifier for a target that is in Cover. |
| IMPERVIOUS | Effect | The IGNORE ARMOUR Effect does not affect any -INJURY DICE and -INJURY MODIFIERS that apply to Battlekit that has this Keyword. The IGNORE ARMOUR Keyword affects any other Battlekit a target model has normally. |
| INFECTION MARKER | Tag | The model is under the influence of a supernatural or chemical malady that provides temporary effects. INFECTION MARKERS can be used to modify dice rolls exactly like BLOOD MARKERS (i.e. ACTION rolls and injury rolls and used in Bloodbaths). A model may have up to six INFECTION MARKERS and six BLOOD MARKERS at the same time. If a model activates with one or more INFECTION MARKERS, it gains +1 INFECTION MARKER to the maximum of 6. |
| INFILTRATOR | Effect | When a model with this Keyword is deployed for the first time in a game, it can be set up anywhere on the battlefield as long as it is out of line of sight of all enemies and is at least 8" away from the closest enemy. INFILTRATORS are deployed after models that do not have this Keyword. Any INFILTRATORS that cannot be deployed in this way are instead deployed normally in their deployment zone. |
| LEADER | Effect | Add +1 DICE to Morale Checks if your Warband has at least 1 model with this Keyword on the battlefield that is not Down or Out of Action. |
| LIMIT (X) | Tag | You can only purchase as many of this piece of equipment/weapon/armour as indicated by the number in parenthesis for your warband. If you find more via looting/exploration, you can break this limit. |
| NEGATE X | Effect | A model with the NEGATE Keyword is not affected by the specified Keyword’s Effect. For example, a model with NEGATE SHRAPNEL ignores the Effect of the SHRAPNEL Keyword. |
| NEW ANTIOCH | Tag | This model is part of the Principality of New Antioch Faction. |
| PILGRIM | Tag | This model is part of the Trench Pilgrim Faction. |
| PISTOL | Effect | A pistol can be used as a Melee Weapon or a Ranged Weapon, and can be used as both in the same Activation. When it is used as a Ranged Weapon it has the Rangeshown on its Profile and uses the attacking model’s ranged Characteristic. When used as a Melee Weapon it uses the attacking model’s Melee Characteristic and can be used as an Off-Hand Weapon if desired. |
| PUTRESCERE (X) | Tag | Arcana Putrescere spells are marked with the Keyword PUTRESCERE (X) where the number in brackets indicates how many INFECTION MARKERS will have to be spent to trigger the effect of the Arcana. If multiple numbers or a range of numbers are listed in the brackets, any one of those numbers can be chosen. These INFECTION MARKERS can be taken from any models within 12” of the caster, be they friendly or enemy models. INFECTION MARKERS used this way are removed from the game and the described effect of the Arcana Putrescere then takes effect as described – no ACTION roll is needed, unless outlined in the Arcana. Despite not requiring an ACTION roll, Arcana being cast through the Arcana Putrescere are ACTIONS and, as with other ACTIONS, spells can only be used by the model once per Activation. Some Arcana Putrescere Powers are not marked with the Keyword PUTRESCRE (X). These powers are typically passive abilities. |
| RELOAD | Effect | If a model makes an attack with a Weapon that has this Keyword then its Activation ends after the ACTION that allowed the attack is completed. |
| RISKY | Effect | If you must make a Success Roll for a model that is using a piece of Battlekit that has this Keyword, then the Success Roll becomes a Risky Success Roll (the model’s Activation will end if the Success Roll is a Failure). For example, the Success Roll for an attack made with a Weapon that has the RISKY Keyword would become a Risky Success Roll. This Effect is ignored if the Success Roll is already a Risky Success Roll. |
| SCATTER | Effect | Some Weapons with the BLAST Keyword also have the SCATTER Keyword. When you make an attack with the Weapon, pick a target point or model and carry out the attack as described in the rules for BLAST. However, if the Success Roll for the attack was a Failure, the target point will scatter instead of missing. To see where it scatters to, subtract the Success Roll from 7. For example, if the Success Roll was 4, then the target point would scatter (7 - 4 =) 3". Move the target point that many inches in a direction chosen by your opponent, and then make an Injury Roll for every model that is within the Weapon’s blast radius of the target point. |
| SHIELD COMBO | Effect | For the purposes of wielding a 2-handed weapon with the ‘Shield Combo’ indicator, the Trench Shield does not take a hand to wield but still functions as normal. |
| SHOTGUN | Effect | Add -1 INJURY DICE to rolls for attacks made at Long Range with a Weapon that has this Keyword instead of the usual Long Range modifier (-1 DICE). |
| SHRAPNEL | Effect | After making the Injury Roll for a Weapon with this Keyword, place 1 extra BLOOD MARKER next to the target model (even if the Injury Roll has No Effect). |
| SKIRMISHER | Effect | If an enemy selects a model with this Keyword as the target of a Charge, you can choose to evade with your model before the Charge is made, as long as your model is not within 1" of an enemy. When a model evades, roll a D3 and move the model that many inches. It must finish this move more than 1" away from all enemy models. |
| STRONG | Effect | A model with this Keyword is not affected by Battlekit with the Keyword HEAVY. In addition, it can use one 2-Handed Melee Weapon as if it were a 1-Handed Melee Weapon. |
| SULTANATE | Tag | This model is part of the Sultanate of the Iron Wall Faction. |
| THE COURT | Tag | This model is part of The Court of the Seven Headed Serpent faction. |
| TOUGH | Effect | The first time a model with this Keyword suffers an Out of Action result on the Injury Table, it is treated as a Down result instead. |
